Flame Jazz Messengers

Flame Jazz Messengers, led by pianist/drummer/composer Jussi Fredriksson, released their debut album “Porth Arthur” via Fredriksson Music. The sextet is comprised of A-list Finnish jazz talent and the band features Severi Pyysalo on vibraphone, Mikko “Gunu” Karjalainen on trumpet, Max Zenger on alto saxophone, Teemu Åkeblom on bass, Fredriksson on drums, plus the Swedish tenor sax man Karl-Martin Almqvist. The album’s music has been composed by Fredriksson and Pyysalo, and the music uses the spirit of the city of Turku and the Baltic Sea as its thematic framework.

The original music performed by the Flame Jazz Messengers is characterised by the strong role of the three reeds at the front and the strong backing of the vibes, bass and drums as the rhythm section. This ensemble formation gives freedom to the composers to paint a versatile sonic image, utilising both the strong individual skills and the seamless teamwork of the seasoned group.

“I think the album fittingly reflects the laid-back feeling of Turku on the West coast of Finland”, Fredriksson says. “There is a strong jazz boom in the city and you can hear it on ‘Port Arthur’, especially given the fact that four of the six players have roots in Turku. I personally find it an honor to be able to collaborate with Severi Pyysalo on this album. He is one of the legends in Finnish jazz and should be featured on new recordings as much as possible.”


Port Arthur (2016)

  1. Port Arthur
  2. Pinky Blues
  3. Genau
  4. No Blue-Green Alga, Please
  5. Que Sera
  6. How Deep Is The Ocean

Produced by Severi Pyysalo and Jussi Fredriksson