Joonas Haavisto Trio

Joonas Haavisto – piano
Antti Lötjönen – bass
Joonas Riippa – drums

Joonas Haavisto, one of the most talented Finnish jazz pianists of his generation, released his new album “oku” through Fredriksson Music in Finland in January 2016. Marking the third release for Haavisto, “oku” unites three stellar musicians from the Finnish scene. Haavisto on piano is joined by Antti Lötjönen on bass and Joonas Riippa on drums on a set which features 7 originals penned by Haavisto plus the lone standard “When I Fall in Love” by Victor Young.

“Oku” has received widespread acclaim hot on the heels of its release. The album was featured on the Apple Music “Jazz A-List” and the Japanese “Jazz Critique Magazine” called it a “masterpiece from the rising Nordic Star”. In Finland, the album has received several 5-star ratings in the press.

”Latest masterpiece from the fast rising Nordic Star.”
— Jazz Critiques Magazine (March 2016)

”This trio´s real thrill lies in its unique balance and those breathtaking moments in their nuanced playing.”
— Toshiaki Uemura, CD Journal (February 2016)

”Every tune sounds excellent!”
— Takashi Kubota, Jazz Japan (February 2016)


oku (2016)

  1. One For Jean
  2. Winter Sleep
  3. Frozen
  4. Aibalba
  5. Singularity
  6. Chilling At Shinjuku
  7. Band Wagon
  8. When I Fall In Love

Produced by Joonas Haavisto

Micro to Macro (2013)

  1. Light From Behind The Sun
  2. Sothis
  3. Circling Planets
  4. Is There Anybody
  5. Color Confinement
  6. Partying Quarks

Produced by Joonas Haavisto